Department of Cultural Affairs appoints Preston Daniels and Cary Anglum to Advisory Committee

(DES MOINES) – The Iowa Department of Cultural Affairs has appointed Preston Daniels of Des Moines and Cary Anglum of Cedar Falls to its Cultural and Entertainment District Advisory Committee.

Daniels, a former mayor of Des Moines, will serve a three-year term. Anglum, executive director of Cedar Falls’ Community Main Street program, fills a vacant seat for a one-year term.

“I’m delighted Preston and Cary have agreed to serve on this committee,” Walker said. “Their experience in civic and cultural issues will be a tremendous asset as the committee moves forward in examining this year’s applications. We’re very pleased to have them on board.”

The advisory committee reviews and recommends applications from cities, communities and other civic organizations requesting CED certification from the state. A CED is recognized as a compact area of a city or community anchored by a high concentration of cultural facilities.

Created in 2004, the program encourages city and county governments to partner with local community nonprofit and for-profit organizations, businesses and groups to enhance the quality of life for the people of Iowa.

CED certification is a valuable economic development tool because it offers recipients access to financial assistance from state agencies and other funding partners, including historic preservation tax credits for rehabilitating historic buildings and incentives that create live/work space for cultural workers and space for cultural and entertainment enterprises.

“We know that areas with a high concentration of arts and historic buildings attract a highly educated and diverse workforce and tourists who support additional businesses such as restaurants, hotels and entertainment venues,” Walker said. “The result is a synergy that increases property values, profitability and the tax base of the region.”

Last year, the Department of Cultural Affairs certified 10 CEDs in eight Iowa communities: Cedar Falls, Charles City, Cherokee, Davenport, Dubuque, Iowa City, Muscatine and Spencer.

The CED advisory committee is scheduled to meet October 13-14, 2005 in Des Moines to review this year’s applications. Announcement of the 2005 CED certification recipients is expected October 25, 2005.

Daniels and Anglum join Thomas Guzman of Des Moines, Amanda James of Pleasant Hill, Chip Overton of Des Moines, Pramod Sarin of Waterloo, Shannon Thomas of Iowa City, Roderick Scott of Iowa Falls and George Wakeman of Sioux City on the committee.

More information about the CED program can be found on-line at or by contacting Jack Porter of the Department of Cultural Affairs at 515.242-6152 or





Mary Cownie, Director